Being Interviewed by Steve the Linguist

Steve the Linguist’s blog is one of several that I subscribe to. Steve is Canadian and speaks nine languages. His command of Mandarin and Japanese is particularly impressive. A little while ago he decided to start interviewing language learners who had succeeded and failed to learn their target languages to get an idea from them what worked and what didn’t. The first interview he did was a lot of fun so I told Steve that, if he still needed people, I would be willing to be interviewed.

We did the interview yesterday and it was truly enjoyable. One of the reasons I started this blog was to have more contact with language enthusiasts (like yourselves) and Steve is one of the most enthusiastic of the bunch. You can listen to the interview here.

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences. I found the interview very inspiring.

  2. Great interview. It was very inspirational for me, as I am working on the same languages that you have mastered. I am really trying to focus now on finding meaningful content on which I can base my studies.

    It’s strange because I started studying Spanish around 10 years ago, and I’m stuck in that intermediate stage, but I have a very strong base of the language. On the other hand, I started studying Portuguese two months ago, and I forget how I was even taught Spanish…so it’s hard to apply the same patterns to learning Portuguese. The hardest part for me right now is learning the pronunciation and a strong base of vocab. Slowly but surely I’m getting somewhere with my efforts to become trilingual🙂

    And of course, I applaud your efforts and wish you luck in your studies of other languages as well!

  3. I’m glad that you guys like it. It was fun doing the interview.

  4. yeah I like it🙂 It’s interesting, especially when Steve asked you whether you thought classes were useful, and you said, to his surprise, VERY USEFUL, adding that because I made them useful. hehe.

Leave a Reply

